Mississippi law enforcement endorse Attorney General Jim Hood

By Colby | September 30, 2015 | Campaign Updates


CONTACT: Jonathan Compretta


41 Mississippi sheriffs and district attorneys give nod to Hood


JACKSON, Miss. – Citing his experience, qualifications and job performance, 31 sheriffs and 10 district attorneys from across Mississippi have endorsed Attorney General Jim Hood in his 2015 re-election campaign.

Collectively, the endorsements represent the largest number of sheriffs and prosecutors to support any one candidate in this year’s elections.

“I am deeply humbled by the support and acknowledgment of these dedicated sheriffs and prosecutors,” said General Hood.  “Like them, my first priority is enforcing the law and protecting Mississippi families.  To do that, my office has worked to provide local law enforcement the tools they need to do their jobs – in the areas of cybercrime, child pornography and domestic violence. All of us in law enforcement depend on one another to make Mississippi a safer place to live.”

Ben Creekmore, district attorney for Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Tippah and Union counties, said Jim Hood’s experience and qualifications as a prosecutor are unmatched.

“Jim brings a wealth of knowledge to the job and understands what it takes to protect the citizens of our state,” said Creekmore. “We must have an attorney general who possesses these skills and expertise; combined with courage, conviction and passion to stand for fairness and justice.”

Marshall County Sheriff Kenny Dickerson said General Hood is on the front lines with law enforcement and is truly committed to public safety.

“Jim Hood has always been with us in our fight to make Mississippi a safer place for our families and neighbors,” said Dickerson. “He has a genuine compassion for victims and a true desire to fight for those who can’t fight for themselves. He is our friend.”


Those who have endorsed Jim Hood for attorney general are:


Mississippi District Attorneys:

Dee Bates, Jr.: District 14 – Lincoln, Pike, Walthall

John W. Champion: District 17 – Desoto, Tate, Panola, Yalobusha, Tallahatchie

Ben Creekmore: District 3 – Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Tippah, Union

Ronnie Harper: District 6 – Adams, Amite, Franklin, Wilkinson

Alexander Martin: District 22 – Claiborne, Copiah, Jefferson

Brenda Mitchell: District 11 – Bolivar, Coahoma, Quitman, Tunica

E.J. Bilbo Mitchell: District 10 – Clarke, Kemper, Lauderdale, Wayne

Akillie Malone Oliver: District 21 – Holmes, Humphreys, Yazoo

Dewayne Richardson: District 4 – Leflore, Sunflower, Washington

Ricky Smith, Jr.: District 9 – Issaquena, Sharkey, Warren


Mississippi Sheriffs: 

Lindsey Adams: Sharkey

Ricky Banks: Leflore

William Brewer, Jr.: Tallahatchie

Cecil Cantrell: Monroe

Jerry Carver: Carroll

Kenny Dickerson: Marshall

Jimmy Edwards: Union

Karl Gaillard: Tippah

Milton Gaston: Washington

K.C. Hamp: Tunica

Cloyd Halford: Choctaw

James Haywood: Sunflower

Charles Jones: Coahoma

Harold L. Jones: Copiah

Richard Jones: Issaquena

Todd Kemp: Clarke

Marvin Lucas: Claiborne

Willie March: Holmes

Leo Mask: Pontotoc

Chuck Mayfield: Adams

Billy McGee: Forrest

Tim Mitchell: Webster

Tim Nail: Attala

Jerry Nix, Jr.: Montgomery

Oliver Parker: Quitman

Jason Pugh: Winston

Jimmy Simmons: Chickasaw

Alton Strider: Grenada

Randy Tolar: Prentiss

Glenn Whitlock: Tishomingo

Darryl Woodson: Wayne