Local Oxford and Picayune Restaurants and Bars Receive Six Total Citations for Selling Alcohol to Minors

By Colby | October 30, 2015 | AG News

Investigators with the Mississippi Attorney General’s Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement Division recently conducted alcohol and beer compliance checks in Oxford and Picayune resulting in the issuance of six total citations for selling alcohol to minors.

In Oxford on October 23, the following businesses received citations when checked for compliance on selling alcohol to minors:

Frank & Marlees                      1210 Harrison Avenue            2 VIOLATIONS
Rib Cage of Oxford                311 South Lamar Boulevard    VIOLATION    2nd Offense w/in a year
Soulshine Pizza Factory        308 South Lamar Boulevard  VIOLATION

The following businesses in Oxford did not receive a citation when checked for compliance on selling alcohol to minors:

4 Corner Chevron                              502 South Lamar Boulevard
Double Quick #24                              1401 Jackson Avenue
Kendall’s Gas Mart                            1455 South Lamar Boulevard
Lamar Express                                  1448 South Lamar Boulevard
Lamar Lounge                                    1309 North Lamar Boulevard
Levee of Oxford                                1008 Jackson Avenue
Proud Larry’s                                      211 South Lamar Boulevard
Sky Mart Grocery                              825 College Hill Road
Spot Store                                          1438 North Lamar Boulevard
The Corner Bar                                  1002 Jackson Avenue East

The following businesses in Oxford did not let anyone under the age of 21 inside:

Funkys                                                1012 Jackson Avenue
Rooster’s Blues House                      114 Courthouse Square
The Round Table on the Square        132 Courthouse Square
The Library                                          120 South 11th Street
The Oxford Cellar                              135 South 10th Street

If you sell alcohol to anyone under the age of 21, you will pay a stout fine to the State between $500-$1,000 for a first offense, and if you continue to sell you could lose your permit to sell and possibly face a fine of $1,000-$2,000, and up to a year in jail. We appreciate the support and commitment of local law enforcement agencies, and I am certain that our combined efforts will vastly help reduce the sale of alcohol to underage drinkers.

At the core of this law is the safety of our young people. It simply states that it is illegal in Mississippi to sell alcohol to anyone under the age of 21.

In Picayune on October 21, the following businesses received citations when checked for compliance on selling alcohol to minors:

Applebee’s                                          715 Memorial Boulevard                    VIOLATION
El Mariachi                                          1210 S. Hough Avenue                      VIOLATION

The following businesses in Picayune did not receive a citation when checked for compliance on selling alcohol to minors:

The Italian Grill                                    1702 Hwy. 11
Rio Grand Grill                                    1413 Armand Drive

We conduct alcohol checks frequently. In these routine checks, we issue citations to bartenders or servers. We like to keep vigilance high, particularly in college towns, but also in surrounding areas, that we are out enforcing our state’s alcohol and tobacco laws statewide.

The Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Division provides training for staff and management of any retail establishment which sells alcohol.  I urge business owners and managers to contact my office, and ask for on-site training. The lives of our children and loved ones are at risk whenever alcohol consumption and driving are mixed.  Other dangers include binge or excessive drinking which can also result in overdose, an accident or injury. Retailers who are vigilant in following the law can significantly improve a safe environment for all.

During the past fiscal year, the Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Unit has conducted more than 6,000 compliance checks with 203 buys for a 3.28% buy rate across the state.